Friday, March 22, 2013

2013 Juried Student Art Exhibition reception photos

Award Winners-Juried Student Art Exhibition

ASHLAND, Ohio – The award winners have been announced for the Ashland University 2013 Juried Student Art Exhibition that will run through April 5 in the University’s Coburn Gallery.

The outside juror for the exhibition was George T. Gregory instructor at Ohio State University , Columbus, Ohio,  and he was responsible for selecting the exhibition consisting of 125 artworks from among a competitive field of 178 student entries and also designating the award recipients. George was born and raised in Richmond, Virginia.  He earned his Bachelor of Fine Arts in sculpture with a minor in printmaking, magna cum laude, from Virginia Commonwealth University. Mr. Gregory resides in Columbus, Ohio. He received his Master of Fine Arts from The Ohio State University, and is currently a lecturer in their Art department. He has exhibited his work throughout the east coast and has received several awards including the Charles Renick Award of Excellence, which was awarded to him by Virginia Commonwealth University.

Award winners include:

Best in Show - $250
Ana Reynolds
Digital Print
Sponsored by the Coburn Gallery

Everett S. Caldemeyer Award - $200
Barbara Mooneyham
 Sponsored by Art Professor Charles Caldemeyer

College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Award - $250
Marissa Uhrig
Digital print
Sponsored by Ashland University Dean of College of Arts & Sciences- Dr. Dawn Weber

These art area awards were sponsored by the Coburn Art Gallery:

Sculpture - $100
Emily May
Decayed Flame Steel Sculpture

Printmaking - $100
Taylor Wade
Farm Life
Intaglio Print

Digital Award - $100
Mauricio Uranga
Cubist Piano Song
Computer Animation

Painting Award - $100
Jessica Anderson
Marital Bliss
Oil on Canvas

Ceramics Award - $100
Sarah Toby
Forget Me Not

Drawing Award - $100
Randi Schimmoeller
Charcoal Drawing

People's Choice Award - Gift Card
Taylor Wade
Unknown and Unsung
Colored pencil drawing
Sponsored by Cynthia Petry
The People's Choice award was selected by the Coburn Gallery patrons during the opening reception on Thursday, March 21.

Alumni “Wink” Award-Gift Card
Danielle Rhonemus
I Aim To Please
Oil Painting
The Alumni Award is selected and sponsored by 2012 alumnus Jennifer Winkler.

The Coburn Gallery is open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday and 12 noon to 4 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday. The gallery will be closed during the AU Easter Break. For more information on this exhibition, visit the gallery at, find us on Facebook or call 419.289.5652.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

2013 AU Student Art Exhibition

Stop by and support the AU student artists at the opening reception of the 2013 Juried Student Art Exhibition-Thursday March 21st @4:30pm. Over $1300 in art awards to be announced at 5:00pm.