Thursday, August 27, 2015

"Power of the Press" Awards Announced

"Power of the Press" Awards Announced-

Best in Show: Keisha Mrotek lithography, monotype and screen print entitled "50 Years of Progress", and Juror Honorable Mentions include: Chadwick Tolley’s silkscreen print "Frickin Rad", Stephanie Sabo’s image transfer and chine-colle print entitled "Lattice Ring Dress" and Marissa Angel for her etching with coal ash print entitled "Ashen".

The juror for the “Power of the Press” was Liz Maugans, one of Cleveland’s Zygote Press’ co-founders and managing directors. She is a native of Ohio who received her Master of Fine Arts in Printmaking from Cranbrook Academy of Art in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. Maugans teaches drawing and printmaking at the Cleveland Institute of Art, and has taught at various other institutions in the Cleveland area.

The National Juried Exhibition “Power of the Press” includes 20 artworks from 16 artists from across the  United States and includes Andries Fourie, Salem, Ore.; Margaret Denk-Leigh, Independence, Ohio; Keisha Mrotek,  Oakland, Calif.; Ramiro Rodriguez, South Bend, Ind.; Kimberly Nguyen, Oklahoma, Okla.; Donté Hayes, Kennesaw, Ga.; Christina Carlyle Reed, Seattle, Wash.; Jill Annie Margaret, Boise, Idaho; Amnestie Lillian-Tate VerDuin, Mount Pleasant, Mich.; Margi Weir, Detroit, Mich.; Marissa Angel, Virginia Beach, Va.; Akemi Ohira, Charlottesville, Va.; Elizabeth Klimek, Gaithersburg, Md.; AU Associate Professor Keith Dull, Ashland, Ohio; Chadwick Tolley, Evans, Ga.; and Stephanie Sabo, Los Angeles, Calif. The exhibition showcases the talent of contemporary printmakers and will run through October 31, 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment