Friday, March 15, 2019

Award Winners Announced- 2019 Juried Student Art + Design Exhibition

The award winners have been announced for the Ashland University 2019 Juried Student Art and Design Exhibition that will run through March 28 in the University’s Coburn Gallery.

This exhibition offers $1,000 in awards to student artists, including Best in Show, Bernini Award, Dean’s Award, People’s Choice Award and the AU Permanent Art Collection Award. The awards were announced at the opening reception of the exhibition on March 14, 2019. The People’s Choice award will be announced on the Coburn Gallery’s Facebook page on March 26, 2019.

The outside juror for exhibition was Larry Schiemann. Schiemann was a longtime Ashland University Art Department faculty member and is currently the owner of Clayfields Pottery, specializing in works of stoneware and porcelain clay. Schiemann has exhibited nationally and has offered many ceramic workshops throughout his career. Schiemann is represented by galleries in Michigan, Ohio and Florida. Schiemann accepted 98 entries of the 180 entries submitted.

Best in Show - Tyreece Jones, Matthew 7:15, Charcoal drawing
Sponsored by the Department Art and Design and the Coburn Gallery

Honorable Mention Awards
Sponsored by the Department Art and Design and the Coburn Gallery

Raven Roddy, The Female Gaze I, Pen /Ink Drawing
Fiona Donley, Intelligence, Digital painting
Tristan Peterman, A.N.T., Found object sculpture

Bernini Award -
Hannah Osborn, Anxiety, Charcoal Drawing
Sponsored and selected by Dr. Wendy and Scott Schaller

College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Award -
Cameron Middis, Subtraction Cube, Steel Sculpture
Sponsored and selected by Ashland University Dean of College of Arts & Sciences- Dr. Dawn Weber

AU Permanent Art Collection Award
Sponsored and selected by Ashland University Permanent Art Collection- Matt Portner
Hannah Osborn, Life in Patchwork, Mixed Media Work on Paper
Destini Oler, Peace, Acrylic Painting

Alumni “Wink” Award-
Schuyler Runkle, Silently Screaming, Found Object sculpture
The Alumni Award is selected and sponsored by 2012 alumnus Jennifer Winkler.

No comments:

Post a Comment